O Thou Whose Stillness Drowns

A poem by Ruth Bell Graham

O Thou Whose Stillness Drowns

O Thou

Whose stillness drowns

earth’s total noise –

its grating sounds:

progress,

traffic,

voice;

flutterings

of my frustration,

mutterings,

agitation;

the screaming silences

without,

within;

the din

of questions clamoring

for their “why?”

and “how?”

now!

the rumblings

of man’s discontent,

erupting hate,

violence;

war’s distant thunder

rolling near,

and everywhere

the cries

of fear

that paralyzes

as it grips…

and near at hand

a faucet drips.

O Thou,

Whose stillness drowns

earth’s total noise,

only in Thee

is stillness found…

And I rejoice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to O Thou Whose Stillness Drowns

  1. Jill Wagner says:

    God has been attempting to teach me stillness for at least 10 years – learning little by little to “cease my warlike activity” and “be still and know he is God.” Psalm 46:10

    When God told the Israelites to “be still” the Egyptian army was on one side the Red Sea on the other BUT he had a plan for their deliverance from their enemies and he has a plan for MY deliverance from mine. I need only to be still and know the LORD will fight for me – the battle is His not mine.

  2. Jill,
    Thanks for that comment. Your words are a confirming balm in the furnace of pain and adversity that I’ve been in for the last 13 weeks. He will be my deliverer and will fight the battle for me. I am not strong, but, He is mighty to save.

    When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. (Isaiah 43:2)

Leave a comment